MCSA Sportsmanship Award

The MCSA Sportsmanship plaque was donated by US SAILING in 1991 with the intent of promoting Sportsmanship in the sport of sailing at all levels and to encourage Associations to submit individuals for consideration for the US SAILING W.Van Alan Clark Jr. Sportsmanship Trophy. The space on the original plaque was filled, so in 2000 former Commodore Mike Moes of Ohio State used some teak from his father’s boat yard to enlarge the area for names. This award is a peer nomination process that should be based on attitude, reaction to special situations at regattas, or any other notable occurrence that expresses the high ideals of sportsmanship.

Year Name School Results
2015 Emily Renton Western Michigan University
2014 Mike Flanigan University of Notre Dame
2013 Travis Cottle Northwestern
2012 Sarah Ellis Minnesota
2011 Nathaniel Walden Notre Dame
2010 Tim O’Brein Notre Dame
2009 Megan Six Wisconsin
2008 Scott Pfeffer Michigan
2006 Evan Quasney Michigan
2007 Patrick Bloomstein John Carroll
2005 Jenny Wilson Minnesota
2004 Matt Vanderpool Michigan
2003 Not Awarded
2002 Steve Bauer Ohio University
2001 Bryon N. Thornburgh John Carroll
2000 Elizabeth Weiler Marquette
1999 Mike Moes Ohio State
1998 Mike Moes Ohio State
1997 Mike Rushing Marquette
1996 Andy Grohs Purdue
1995 Than & Greta Dykstra Hope
1994 Brenda Ward Iowa
1993 Eric Wulff John Carroll
1992 Erich Schloemer Iowa
1991 Daniel Irvine Miami