MCSA Benefactors’ Trophy for the Men’s Singlehanded Championship

In 2000 George Griswold built the current Benefactors’ Trophy. The trophy is a copper sailboat sculpture done by Gordon Isco in 1982 in a glass case on a walnut base. His daughter Gina Isco was a member of the MCSA Executive Board that year. The sculpture was given to George Griswold by the 1982 Executive Board for service to the MCSA and in the Fall of 2003 a bottom layer was added to the trophy on which six circular emblems were attached to honor the Benefactors of the MCSA: The Chicago Yacht Club, The Detroit Yacht Club, Harken Yacht Equipment, North Sails, Patricia K Sullivan Memorial Trust, and Vanguard Sailboats.

The original MCSA Singlehanded Championship Trophy was donated by several former MCSA Commodores. The trophy recorded the names of the MCSA Commodores from 1948 to 1968 as well as the winners of the Single-handed Championship between 1960 and 1968. However, over that period of time the trophy was broken and not repaired.

Year Name School Results
1960 Ronald Marshall Ohio State
1961 Theodore Seaver Wisconsin
1962 Charles Miller Wisconsin
1963 James Henkel Wisconsin
1964 Paul Henkel Wisconsin
1965 Robert Kuehlthau Wisconsin
1966 William Parker Kent State
1967 Robert Kuehlthau Wisconsin
1968 James Hahn Ohio Wesleyan
1969 Richard T. Doyle Notre Dame
1970 Richard T. Doyle Notre Dame
1971 Greg Norris Wisconsin
1972 Fritz Hanselman Ohio Wesleyan
1973 Bruce D. Nelson Michigan
1974 Derrick Fries Michigan State
1975 Tom Armantrout Wisconsin
1976 James Reynolds Notre Dame
1977 Timothy Boucher Ohio State
1978 David Chapin Southern Illinois
1979 David Chapin Southern Illinois
1980 Phillip Reynolds Notre Dame
1981 Henry Filter Ohio Wesleyan
1982 Scott Ferguson Michigan
1983 Scott Ferguson Michigan
1984 Scott Ferguson Michigan
1985 Mark Pettee Ohio Wesleyan
1986 Michael J. Fauqust Wisconsin
1987 Andrew Burdick Wisconsin
1988 Christopher Carroll Michigan
1989 Christopher Carroll Michigan
1990 Christopher Brown Michigan
1991 Blair Dryden Purdue
1992 Craig Gabel Michigan State
1993 Ryan Mc Laughlin Michigan
1994 Craig Gabel Michigan State
1995 A.J. Morris Marquette
1996 Luke Raymond Michigan
1997 Paul Kaseburg Notre Dame
1998 Kai Skvaria Michigan
1999 Geoff Kimmel Purdue
2000 John Porter Wisconsin
2001 Adam Dunki-Jacobs Ohio State
2002 Tim Krech Minnesota
2003 Adam Dunki-Jacobs Ohio State
2004 Chad Rechcgyl Marquette
2005 Mark Dunsworth Minnesota
2006 Tyler Andrews Indiana
2007 Ryan Lashaway Owens
2008 Ryan Lashaway Toledo
2009 Matthew Thompson Minnesota
2010 Andrew Fox Wisconsin
2011 Andrew Fox Wisconsin
2012 Andrew Fox Wisconsin
2013 Matthew Ripkey Wisconsin
2014 James Harvey Washington University
2015 James Harvey Washington University
2016 James Harvey Washington University